Eugene H. Holeman Award

The Eugene H. Holeman Award is presented annually to a regular member of AFDOSS for exceptional service to their state or the nation in the performance of duties and responsibilities in the administration and enforcement of food, drug, cosmetic and consumer products. The award was established by AFDOSS in 1977 and the first presentation of the award was given during the 30th Annual Education Conference in Williamsburg, Va., in April 1978. The late Eugene H. Holeman was President of both AFDO and AFDOSS and the following excerpts are from his writing in 1987:

“AFDOSS has always been, and will remain, my principal resource for examples of friendship and ability in administering federal and state laws…”
“AFDO is an organization if, once you have become an active member, you are influenced for life.”


_DSC1877 web

Brenda Morris accepted the Eugene H. Holeman award while serving as the Assistant Director for the Division of Food Safety for the Florida Department of Agriculture, and Consumer Services (FDACS). In this role, she oversaw the Bureaus of Food Inspection, Dairy Industry, and the
Food Laboratory. She has served in other food regulatory roles with FDACS
including Bureau Chief of Food Inspections, the Environmental Administrator of food inspections, and a field inspector in Florida, as well as Georgia and Texas. Brenda was the Southeast Regional Food Safety Manager for Sears Holdings and previously worked for the Florida Department of Health’s environmental health and drinking water programs. She has served on both the AFDOSS and AFDO Board of Directors and is now currently the Director of Produce Safety with AFDO.


The Eugene H. Holeman award recipient is determined by a committee of five members from AFDOSS, who consider all nominations for the award each year and provide a recommendation prior to the Annual Education Conference. The five-member committee is determined by the AFDOSS By-Laws (Section 15), which states: “The Eugene H. Holeman Awards Committee shall consist of 5 members as follows: (1) the most recent recipient as Chairman, (2) the President of the Association and (3) the three past living recipients. If three members as described are not available, the President may appoint such members as necessary to fill all five positions.

To be eligible for the Eugene H. Holeman Award, a nominee must have demonstrated that he/she has served the Association and made a valuable contribution to food, drug, cosmetic and consumer products and administration and enforcement.  A previous recipient of the award shall not be eligible for re-nomination. The Committee shall consider each report of nomination, as received, and the committee members shall have the right to independently canvas the field in order that no one worthy of consideration is overlooked.  The Committee shall make a recommendation but an award need not be granted each year.

_DSC1874 web holeman

AFDOSS held its business lunch & awards ceremony during the AFDO AEC on June 24, 2019 in Atlanta, Ga. Past & present recipients of the Eugene H. Holeman award are captured here.

2019 Brenda Morris Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
2018 Dr. John Fruin Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
2017 Natalie Adan Georgia Department of Agriculture, Atlanta, GA
2016 Mark Sestak Alabama Department of Public Health
2015 Pamela Miles Virginia Dept. Agriculture & CS Richmond, VA
2014 Joe Reardon North Carolina Department of Agri. Raleigh, NC
2013 Rita Johnson FL Dept. Agri. & Cons. Serv. Tallahassee, FL
2012 Joanne Brown, DVM FL Dept. Agri. & Cons. Serv. Tallahassee, FL
2011 Dennis Baker FDA – Dallas TX
2010 Charlene Bruce Mississippi Dept. of Public Health, Jackson, MS
2009 Guy Delius Kentucky Public Health Protection Safety, Frankfort, KY
2008 Cameron Smoak Georgia Department of Agriculture, Atlanta, GA
2007 Dr. Anna Hood Mississippi State University, MS
2006 Gayle Lancette FDA, Southeast Region Laboratory, Atlanta, GA
2005 Lydia Strayer Mississippi Dept. of Health, Jackson, MS, Vicksburg-Residence
2004 Dr. Bill Brooks South Carolina Dept. of Agriculture, Columbia, SC
2003 Jimmy Hopper Tennessee Dept. of Agriculture, Nashville, TN
2002 Donald Howell North Carolina Dept. Agriculture & Consumer Affairs, Raleigh, NC
2001 Doug Sanders Virginia Dept. Agriculture & Consumer Affairs, Richmond, VA
2000 Douglas Tolen Retired, FDA Director, Orlando, FL
1999 Earl Herrmann Food and Milk Specialist, Alabama Dept. of Health, Montgomery, AL
1998 John Turner Southeast Regional Director, FDA, Atlanta, GA
1997 Dan Smyly Director, Florida Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services, Tallahassee, FL
1996 Robert Gordon Director, Food & Drug Protection Div., NC Dept. of Agriculture, Raleigh, NC
1995 Raymond Eads Food Inspector, Tennessee Dept. of Agriculture, Cleveland, TN
1994 John Draper Kentucky Environmental Sanitation Branch, Cabinet for Human Resources, Frankfort, KY
1993 Truluck Kelly Retired, Director of Laboratories, SC Dept. of Agriculture, Columbia, SC
1992 Betsy Woodward Chief, Food Laboratory, FL Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Serv. Tallahassee, FL
1991 Sander Bellman Director of Chemistry, FDA, Atlanta, GA
1990 George W. Fong Chief, Pesticide Residue Chemical Laboratory, Florida Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Serv., Tallahassee, FL
1989 William Cobb Texas A & M University, State Chemist,College Station, TX
1988 John McGlamery Assistant Director, Food and Drug Protection Div., NC Dept. of Agriculture , Raleigh, NC
1987 Mary Logan Food & Drug Administration, Tennessee Dept. of Agriculture, Nashville, TN
1986 Edsel Moore Director, Radiation & Product Safety, Kentucky Dept. for Health Services, Frankfort, KY
1985 Martha Rhodes Asst. Commissioner, FL Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Tallahassee, FL
1984 Robert Reeves Director, Division of Foods and Dairies, TN Dept. of Agriculture, Nashville, TN
1983 Irving Bell Director, Div. for Consumer Health Protection, Kentucky Dept. for Human Resources, Frankfort, KY
1982 Leo Turner Public Affairs, The Coca-Cola Co., Atlanta, GA
1981 Maurice Kinslow Regional Food & Drug Director, FDA, Atlanta, GA
1980 Shelby Johnson Director, Milk & Food Sanitation, FDA, Atlanta, GA
1979 Doyle C. Golden Chief, Pesticide Residue Laboratories, FL Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services
1978 Raymond Summerlin Former Director, Consumer Div. Georgia Dept. of Agriculture Protection