AFDOSS works to accomplish various projects and goals each year, and much of the work is completed by members who have joined one of the below committees. Every AFDOSS member is encouraged to consider joining a committee and contributing ideas. Please take a moment to learn more about each of the current committees, and join one by emailing your interest to today!

Awards/Eugene H Holeman Award Committee – Provides a nominee for the Eugene H. Holeman Award to be presented at the annual conference award banquet. Consists of five members as follows: the most recent recipient as Chairman, the President of the Association and 3 past living recipients. If three members, as described, are not available, the President may appoint such members as necessary to fill all five positions. (Chair: Latest Award Recipient, Co-Chair: AFDOSS Past-President)

Awards/Mary Logan Scholarship Committee – Solicits and selects a winner for the Mary Logan Scholarship consisting of at least five members appointed by the President, ideally representing each of the participating states within the affiliate. No two members of the committee shall be from any one state. (Chair: Cameron Smoak)

Communications Committee – Promote AFDOSS achievements and important news and updates utilizing the AFDOSS website, AFDOSS Facebook page and AFDO e-News newsletter, in addition to other media outlets as appropriate. (Co-Chairs JoAnn Pittman and Jessica Badour)

Education and Training Committee – Evaluates and makes recommendations to the AFDOSS Board on methods to bring quality training to federal, state, local, and associate members. (Chair: Courtney Mickiewicz and Co-Chair Matt Colson)

Local Arrangements Committee – Responsible for completing all local arrangements in cooperation with the AFDOSS Board for the Annual Educational Seminar. Committee members will consist of AFDOSS members in the state where the Annual Educational Conference is taking place and will be appointed each year by the Chair. Members should include associate (industry) members. (Chair: Shana Davis)

Local Engagements Committee – To increase participation in AFDOSS for food safety regulators from local jurisdictions. (Chair: Melissa Lombardi)

Membership Committee -This committee shall promote membership in AFDOSS. (Chair: Matthew Coleman and Co-chair: Charlene Bruce)

Membership-Alumni Committee – Membership shall include Alumni, Credentials (as defined), and Necrology.  This committee shall promote membership in AFDOSS and encourage Alumni participation at our meetings. (Chair: Sandy Baxter and Co-chair: Tyler Thornburg)

Nomination and Elections Committee – Chaired by the Immediate Past President along with three regular members, appointed by the Chair. This committee develops a slate of candidates for the junior board member each year. (Chair: Matt Colson)

Program Committee – Chaired by the current Vice President and other members as required. Members of the Program Committee are responsible for setting up the program for the Annual Educational Conference. (Chair: Melissa Lombardi)